Planning Commission

Planning Commission Members

Kim E. Martin, Appointed 3/6/12 – 8/2016, Chairperson

Peter Partridge , Appointed 10/13/13 – 8/2017

Thomas R. Miller, Appointed 8/6/13 – 8/2017

George Rabenstine, Jr , Appointed 8/6/14 – 8/2018

Patricia M. Wainwright, Appointed 3/6/13 – 8/2015

Planning Commission Duty

New Salem has a 5-member Planning Commission appointed by Borough Council for 4 year staggered terms. They meet as needed on the fourth Tuesday of the month at 7:00 pm at the Municipal Building, 80 North Water Street.

The New Salem Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Borough Council on all land development and subdivision applications that are submitted to the Borough. The Planning Commission plays an important role in developing the Borough’s Comprehensive Land Use Plan, as well as keeping the Subdivision and Land Development Codes up to date and in compliance with Pennsylvania’s Municipalities Planning Code (MPC).

Because planning is a continuous process that shapes and guides the physical growth of New Salem Borough in harmony with its social and economic needs, the Planning Commission encourages all residents to attend its meetings to express their views.